| World Journal of Oncology, ISSN 1920-4531 print, 1920-454X online, Open Access |
| Article copyright, the authors; Journal compilation copyright, World J Oncol and Elmer Press Inc |
| Journal website https://wjon.elmerpub.com |
Review
Volume 17, Number 5, October 2026, pages 599-613
Magnitude of Survival Benefit Associated With Tyrosine Kinase Inhibitors in Advanced Thyroid Carcinoma: A Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis Incorporating Updated Long-Term Evidence From SELECT (Lenvatinib) and COSMIC-311 (Cabozantinib) Trials
Figures




Tables
| Study | Registration ID | Malignancy | Phase | Number of patients | Sex of patients | Intervention vs comparator | OS HR (95% CI) | Median follow -up timea | Median PFS in months (drug) | Median PFs in months (placebo) | PFS HR (95% CI) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| aD: drug; P: placebo. MTC: medullary thyroid carcinoma; RR-DTC: radioiodine-refractory differentiated thyroid cancer; BID: twice daily; PFS: progression-free survival; OS: overall survival; HR: hazard ratio; CI: confidence interval; DTC: differentiated thyroid cancer. | |||||||||||
| Wells et al, 2012 [37] | NCT00410761 | MTC | III | 331 | Male: 58%/56% | Vandetanib 300 mg vs placebo | 0.89 (0.48–1.65) | D (24)/P (24) | 30.5 | 19.3 | 0.46 (0.31–0.69) |
| Leboulleux et al, 2012 [48] | NCT00537095 | RR-DTC | II | 145 | Male: 54%/53% | Vandetanib 300 mg vs placebo | 0.83 (0.52–1.33) | D (18.9)/P (19.5) | 11.1 | 5.9 | 0.63 (0.43–0.92) |
| Elisei et al, 2013 [40] | NCT00704730 | MTC | III | 330 | Male: 68.9%/63.1% | Cabozantinib 140 mg vs placebo | 0.98 (0.63–1.52) | D (13.9)/P (13.9) | 11.2 | 4 | 0.28 (0.19–0.40) |
| Brose et al, 2014 [39] | NCT00984282 | RR-DTC | III | 417 | Male: 50.2%/45.2% | Sorafenib 400 mg BID vs placebo | 0.80 (0.54–1.19) | D (16.2)/P (16.2) | 10.8 | 5.8 | 0.59 (0.45–0.76) |
| Schlumberger et al, 2015 [25] | NCT01321554 | RR-DTC | III | 392 | Male: 47.9%/57.3% | Lenvatinib 24 mg vs placebo | 0.62 (0.40–1.00) | D (17.1)/P (17.4) | 18.3 | 3.6 | 0.21 (0.14–0.31) |
| Schlumberger et al, 2017 [38] | NCT00704730 | MTC | III | 330 | Male: 68.9%/63.1% | Cabozantinib 140 mg vs placebo | 0.85 (0.64–1.12) | Not found | Not available | Not available | 0.28 (0.19–0.40) |
| Li et al, 2021 [46] | NCT02586350 | MTC | IIB | 91 | Male: 68%/62% | Anlotinib 12 mg vs placebo | 0.92 (0.43–1.97) | D (25.8)/P (24.8) | 20.7 | 11.1 | 0.53 (0.30–0.95) |
| Lin et al, 2022 [45] | NCT03048877 | RR-DTC | III | 92 | Male: 41.3%/37.0% | Apatinib 500 mg vs placebo | 0.42 (0.18–0.97) | D (18.1)/P (18.1) | 20.2 | 4.5 | 0.26 (0.14–0.47) |
| Zheng et al, 2021 [47] | NCT02966093 | RR-DTC | III | 151 | Male: 55.3%/43.8% | Lenvatinib 24 mg vs placebo | 0.84 (0.39–1.83) | D (14.8)/P (15.6) | 23.9 | 3.7 | 0.16 (0.10–0.26) |
| Brose et al, 2021 [42] | NCT03690388 | RR-DTC | III | 187 | Male: 46%/45% | Cabozantinib 60 mg vs placebo | 0.54 (0.27–1.11) | D (6.2)/P (6.2) | Not reached | 1.9 | 0.22 (0.13–0.36) |
| Leboulleux et al, 2024 [33] | NCT01788982 | RR-DTC + MTC | II | 101 | DTC male: 44.3%; MTC male: 74.2% | Nintedanib vs placebo | DTC: 1.00 (0.41–2.44); MTC: 0.88 (0.24–3.21) | DTC (D (26.3)/P (19.8)); MTC (D (48.4)/P (19.7)) | DTC (3.7)/MTC (7) | DTC (2.9)/MTC (3.9) | DTC: 0.65 (0.34–1.25); MTC: 0.49 (0.16–1.53) |
| Study | Registration ID | Malignancy | Phase | Number of patients | Sex of patients | Intervention vs comparator | OS HR (95% CI) | Median follow -up timea | Median PFS in months (drug) | Median PFs in months (drug) | PFS HR (95% CI) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| aD: drug; P: placebo. MTC: medullary thyroid carcinoma; RR-DTC: radioiodine-refractory differentiated thyroid cancer; PFS: progression-free survival; OS: overall survival; HR: hazard ratio; CI: confidence interval. | |||||||||||
| Brose et al, 2022 [35] | NCT02702388 | RR-DTC | II | 152 | Male: 54.7%/48.1% | Lenvatinib 24 mg vs lenvatinib 18 mg | Not reported | D (12.8)/D (11.2) | 24 mg (not reached) | 18 mg (24.4) | 1.44 (0.76–2.74) |
| Capdevila et al, 2022 [36] | NCT01896479 | MTC | IV | 247 | Male: 73%/60% | Cabozantinib 60 mg vs 140 mg | 1.12 (0.77–1.63) | D (30)/D (30) | 60 mg (11) | 140 mg (13.9) | 1.24 (0.90–1.70) |
| Lin et al, 2021 [32] | NCT02870569/CTR20160220 | RR-DTC | II | 35 | Not clearly extracted | Donafenib 300 mg vs 200 mg | Not reported | Not reported | 300 mg (14.98) | 200 mg (9.44) | 0.678 (0.298–1.547) |
| Study | Trial number | Experimental vs comparator | Subgroup/analysis type | PFS findings: drug vs placebo | Key outcome reported |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| NQ: not quantifiable; PFS: progression-free survival; DTC: differentiated thyroid cancer; RR-DTC: radioiodine-refractory differentiated thyroid cancer; RAI: radioactive iodine; TKI: tyrosine kinase inhibitor; HR: hazard ratio; CI: confidence interval. | |||||
| Kiyota et al, 2017 [43] | NCT01321554 | Lenvatinib 24 mg/day vs placebo | No RAI uptake: 275 patients | NQ vs 3.7 months | Treatment outcomes were comparable regardless of the RR-DTC definition used, suggesting that different diagnostic criteria identify clinically similar patient populations. |
| Disease progression despite RAI avidity: 235 patients | 16.5 vs 3.7 months | ||||
| Extensive RAI exposure: 73 patients | 18.7 vs 3.6 months | ||||
| Gianoukakis et al, 2018 [44] | NCT01321554 | Lenvatinib 24 mg/day vs placebo | Overall updated SELECT analysis | 19.4 vs 3.7 months; HR 0.24; 99% CI, 0.17–0.35 | The updated SELECT analysis confirmed sustained PFS benefit with lenvatinib, with responders showing significantly longer PFS than non-responders. |
| Responders vs non-responders | Responders: 33.1 months vs 7.9 months in non-responders | ||||
| Brose et al, 2022 [34] | NCT03690388 | Cabozantinib 60 mg/day vs placebo | Overall updated COSMIC: 311 analyses | 11.0 vs 1.9 months; HR 0.22; 96% CI, 0.15–0.32 | Long-term follow-up supported the sustained efficacy of cabozantinib in previously treated RAIR-DTC, while maintaining a consistent safety profile. |
| Capdevila et al, 2024 [41] | NCT03690388 | Cabozantinib 60 mg/day vs placebo | Prior sorafenib only | 16.6 vs 3.2 months; HR 0.13; 95% CI, 0.06–0.26 | Cabozantinib consistently improved PFS across all treatment history and histological subgroups, indicating that its therapeutic benefit is maintained regardless of prior TKI exposure or differentiated thyroid carcinoma subtype. |
| Prior lenvatinib only | 5.8 vs 1.9 months; HR 0.28; 95% CI, 0.16–0.48 | ||||
| Prior sorafenib + lenvatinib | 7.6 vs 1.9 months; HR 0.27; 95% CI, 0.13–0.54 | ||||
| Papillary DTC | 9.2 vs 1.9 months; HR 0.27; 95% CI, 0.17–0.43 | ||||
| Follicular DTC | 11.2 vs 2.5 months; HR 0.18; 95% CI, 0.10–0.31 | ||||
| Oncocytic DTC | 11.2 vs 2.5 months; HR 0.06; 95% CI, 0.02–0.21 | ||||
| Poorly differentiated DTC | 7.4 vs 1.8 months; HR 0.18; 95% CI, 0.08–0.43 | ||||